Summer Fruit Crisp

I love to play in the kitchen and this weekend was one of those times when I had a few moments to explore. I wanted something for dessert that was fresh and summery, and since I had visited the local farmer’s market earlier in the day, I had several options!

In the fall, I make an apple crisp that is warm and full of cinnamon and brown sugar. I thought, “why not take a summer twist on that?” I decided to combine fresh blueberries with Georgia peaches (OMG)! The combo was more than I had hoped. Served piping hot out of the oven with vanilla bean ice cream on top, this dish was sweet, a little bit tart and definitely quenched my craving.

Why stop there? Sunday dinner needed a little something special too 🙂 This time, I took strawberries and sliced them thin. I added in the lemon juice & sugar with the strawberries and it was the perfect blend of sweet and sour. So yummy!

This is a dessert you can mix and match! Pick any of your favorite summer fruits and test it out tonight!

Fruit Crisp

Summer Fruit Crisp

1 pint blueberries OR strawberries (sliced thin) OR 2 peaches (peeled and chopped) OR combo

1 TBSP granulated sugar

2 TBSP lemon juice

½ box of yellow cake mix (dry – just the mix)

¼ cup brown sugar

1 stick butter (melted)

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease the bottom of a 9×9 or 8×8 baking dish.
  2. Prep fruit – wash, slice/chop if needed and place in bowl. Add lemon juice and granulated sugar to coat.
  3. Add fruit to dish in an even layer. Sprinkle fruit with brown sugar and dry cake mix, covering the fruit as much as possible.
  4. Pour melted butter over top. Butter will bead up and roll, but it will do its work in the oven.
  5. Bake for 25-30 minutes until top is brown and fruit is bubbly. Serve straight out of oven with vanilla ice cream on top.

 

 

 

Leave a comment